This course may be taken prior to or during the same term.
The tuition for the University of West Florida includes base tuition and mandatory fees. The schedule of tuition, fees and other special fees applies to all enrolled students at the University of West Florida. Required fees are established by the Florida Legislature, Florida Board of Governors, and UWF’s Board of Trustees and are generally updated each fall term. The University will make every possible effort to advertise any changes in fees when and if they occur.
You are required to complete a Financial Responsibility Statement prior to registering each term. This statement outlines the terms and conditions of the financial responsibilities and obligations associated with attending the University of West Florida.
Refer to Tuition_and_Fees_for_2015-2016_Catalog.pdf for the 2015-2016 academic year tuition and fees information. (2016-2017 Tuition and Fees will be updated upon approval)
Fees may be paid by any of the following methods:
Students paying fees by mail or by drop-box depository must include all fee payment documents (original copies of fee waiver forms, fee deferment forms, tuition aid forms, etc.) to ensure correct and timely credit for payment. Students are expected to meet all financial obligations as they become due. UWF reserves the right to cancel the registration of students who fail to promptly meet their financial obligations to the University. Students may not pay delinquent account balances applicable to a prior academic year from financial aid awards applicable to the current academic year. All delinquent balances must be paid in full prior to the disbursement of current term financial aid. It is each student’s responsibility to stay informed of all registration and fee payment due dates, deadlines, and other requirements by referring to the Academic Calendar and viewing their Account Balance on MyUWF. If necessary, students should inform their parents or other interested parties of the deadline dates and the necessity for meeting them.
A student becomes liable for his or her tuition upon registration. There are only two due dates per term. Fees for courses remaining on the student’s schedule at the close of the drop/add period must be paid by the fee payment due date. The start date of your earliest class determines your fee payment due date. Payment for classes added after the initial due date are due immediately. For more information and specific examples refer to Student Financial Services FAQs.
Payments are applied to charges on your tuition account in order of the charge due dates. For charges with the same due date, payments are applied first to tuition and mandatory fees and then to other charges on your account.
Authorized deferment status may be granted under certain conditions. All students placed in a deferred fee payment status must confirm the deferred status with the University Cashier or Student Accounts Office. Failure to pay all fees or receive authorized deferred payment status by the fee payment due date may result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or cancellation of the student's registration. Students whose registration is canceled due to non-payment may appeal for reinstatement and will be assessed a $200 reinstatement fee. The student will be held liable for all fees assessed for courses remaining on the student’s registration at the close of the drop/add period for which a partial payment of fees has occurred or an authorized fee deferment status has been granted. Under such circumstances, the student’s registration may or may not be canceled. An administrative hold will be placed on the student’s record until the course fees and the late fees are paid in full.
Financial aid awards, including loans and scholarships, that are complete prior to the beginning of each term will be disbursed by the Financial Aid office and refunded by Student Accounts. Tuition, fees, housing, meal plans and any other outstanding eligible charges are deducted from the financial aid proceeds and the remaining funds are sent to BankMobile (UWF’s contracted refund management partner) to be refunded via the method chosen by the student. It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that all tuition, fees, and other charges are paid in full by the due date. Any balance over and above the amount that is covered by available financial aid must be received in the University Cashiers Office by the fee payment due date to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee.
Federal financial aid (Pell, SEOG, Subsidized, Unsubsidized, Plus and Perkins Loans) can only be used to pay for tuition and fees, housing, meal plans, and the University ID card. Students may use their federal financial aid to pay other charges on their account by signing the Title IV Authorization Form. This form gives UWF permission to apply federal aid to miscellaneous charges on the student account, such as bookstore charges, library fines and health center charges.
The netting of financial aid awards begins after the drop/add period. Late awards of financial aid are processed in the same manner throughout each academic term. All excess financial aid will be sent to BankMobile for refunding according to the student's refund preference selection.
All degree seeking students will receive a Refund Selection Kit at the current address listed in MyUWF. It is the responsibility of each student to keep their current address updated with the University. Address changes can be made in MyUWF.
The packet includes a Personal Code. Students can use the alphanumeric Personal Code to begin refund preference selection. Once logged into the system via the website, the following options are available for refunds:
Note: If students choose the BankMobile VIBE account they will be sent the BankMobile VIBE debit card. Students who choose the Electronic deposit to another account and plan to subsequently transfer funds to a foreign financial institution must contact the Student Accounts Office.
Eligible students may pay current term tuition and fees, housing, mandatory meal plan, and University ID card with a UWF payment plan. All of these charges will automatically be included in the plan. You cannot choose to exclude some charges. Eligible charges will be reduced by the amount of available financial aid, private scholarships, private loans and third party billing arrangements. The University offers payment plans with a variable number of installment payments dependent on the month of enrollment in the plan. Enrollment in the plan is completed through your CashNet account. Select the UWF Payment Plan link in CashNet. Each installment must be paid by the appropriate fee payment due date to avoid assessment of a $100 late payment fee. Students must have a favorable credit rating with the University to be eligible for the UWF Payment Plan. A $15 service charge will be added to all payment plans. Contact the Student Accounts Office at (850) 474-3037 for information.
Students who are registering for courses which will be partially or fully paid by their sponsoring agencies must bring the contracts or authorization forms and partial payments, if applicable, to the Cashiers Office during the registration period. Students must confirm the agency payment with the Cashiers Office during the designated fee payment period.
If the authorization is to be mailed to the Cashiers Office by the agency, it must be received by the fee payment due date. The student must confirm the agency payment with the Cashiers Office during the fee payment period. Failure to meet these requirements will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee. Any change in method of fee payment after the fee payment due date will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee. An example is to change from a VA deferment or tuition loan to another type of third party billing arrangement.
The Florida Prepaid College Program is not financial aid. Rather, it is a third party billing plan, and as such is processed by the University Cashiers Office. Florida Prepaid participants are automatically downloaded from the Florida Prepaid website. Billing to Florida Prepaid is automatic based on the number of undergraduate credit hours a student is enrolled in each semester and the student's number of available Florida Prepaid hours. There are different types of Florida Prepaid plans. The type of plan a student owns will determine the amount per hour Florida Prepaid will pay each term. No Florida Prepaid plan pays material and supply fees, online fees, transportation fees, technology fees, or green fees. Any portion of the student's account balance not covered by Florida Prepaid or other financial aid must be paid by the fee payment due date or it will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee.
If a student chooses not to bill Florida Prepaid, they must notify the University Cashiers office by email each term by the end of the fee payment period.
Students who have delinquent balances at the University (financial aid billings, loans, library fines, etc.) must pay in full to avoid assessment of additional collection costs. Failure to pay the balance will result in holds being placed which will prevent registration as well as the release of diplomas, grades, and transcripts. Holds could also prevent the release of financial aid.
Students who are registering for courses which will be partially or fully paid by a tuition waiver must submit the authorization form to the appropriate office during the registration period. Students must confirm the tuition waiver status with the Cashiers Office during the designated fee payment period. Any portion of the student's account balance not covered by a tuition waiver or other financial aid must be paid by the fee payment due date. Failure to do so will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or cancellation of classes. Refer to Student Financial Services for more information.
High school students enrolled in dual enrollment or early admission programs pursuant to Florida Statutes articulated acceleration will be exempt from the payment of tuition and mandatory fees. Refer to sections on Registration and Admissions for more information. Refer to Dual Enrollment at UWF for more information.
Certain members of the active duty Florida National Guard may be exempt from the payment of one-half of the cost of tuition and fees for courses on a space-available basis only. Students using this waiver may not register for courses subject to the waiver until the last day of registration. Certain members of the Florida National Guard may qualify for that portion of fees not otherwise waived to be paid directly by the Florida Department of Military Affairs when authorized by that agency.
Recipients of the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence may receive a tuition and fees waiver. The student must be enrolled in an undergraduate program of study leading to a degree or certificate, is currently and was at the time of the military action that resulted in the awarding of the combat decoration a resident of Florida, and submits a copy of the Department of Defense Form 214 (DD-214) as documentation that the student received the Purple Heart or other combat decoration superior in precedence. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the number of required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled. Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration. Refer to Student Financial Services for more information and waiver form.
Students shall be exempt from paying tuition and fees if the student is or was at the time he or she reached the age of 18 in the custody of DCF or a relative under s. 39.5085; who was adopted from the DCF after May 5, 1997; or was placed in a guardianship by a court after spending at least 6 months in the custody of DCF after reaching 16 years of age. The student must provide certification of eligibility from the Florida Department of Children and Family Services. This exemption shall remain valid until the time the student reaches 28 years of age, shall be limited to undergraduate degree programs, and shall not exceed 120 credit hours. Refer to Student Financial Services for more information and waiver form.
Individuals who are 60 years of age or older and who meet Florida residency requirements may enroll on a space-available basis without payment of the application fee and may receive a tuition and fees waiver. Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration. No academic credit will be awarded in classes for which fees are waived. Refer to Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waivers for detailed policies and procedures.
Dependents of special risk members as defined in Sections 112.190 and 112.191, Florida Statutes (law enforcement, correctional and correctional probation officers and fire fighters), killed in the line of duty are eligible for waiver of tuition and fees under certain circumstances. The amount waived shall not exceed 120 credit hours. The benefit shall continue until the student's 25th birthday for dependent children. The benefits provided to a spouse must commence within 5 years after the death occurs and shall continue until the 10th anniversary of that death. Only a student in good standing may receive the benefits thereof. Refer to Student Financial Services for more information and waiver form.
State Employees are eligible for six hours of tuition free courses per term (fall, spring, summer). Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration. Certain self-funded degree programs are eligible subject to the availability of funds. Refer to State Employee Tuition Fee Waivers for detailed policies and procedures.
Out-of-state students, including, but not limited to, students who are undocumented for federal immigration purposes who meet the following conditions are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees: attended a secondary school in Florida for 3 consecutive years immediately before graduating from a high school in Florida; apply for enrollment within 24 months after high school graduation; and, submit an official Florida high school transcript as evidence of attendance and graduation. The waiver is applicable for 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program for which the student is enrolled. A student who is granted an out-of-state fee waiver is not eligible for state financial aid. Refer to Student Financial Services for more information and waiver form.
A person who is an honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces, the United States Reserve Forces, or the National Guard; or entitled to and uses educational assistance provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs for a term beginning after July 1, 2015 and who physically resides in Florida while enrolled in the institution are eligible for a waiver of out-of-state fees. The veteran must present to the University a copy of the Department of Defense Form 214 (DD-214) and documentation as proof that the veteran physically resides in Florida. Other persons must present documentation as proof that they physically reside in Florida. Refer to C. W. Bill Young Out of State Waiver for waiver form.
Eligible full-time employees are permitted to take up to six credit hours of undergraduate or graduate coursework at UWF per term (fall, spring, summer) without payment of tuition or mandatory fees. Employees may also assign up to six hours of their undergraduate credit hours or up to three graduate credit hours to their dependents. Certain portions of course fees are not covered by the waiver and must be paid by the employee or dependent by the fee payment due date to avoid the assessment of a $100 late payment fee or the cancellation of registration. Courses such as directed studies, practicums, internships, music and theater performance, continuing education, and other one-on-one course situations such as theses and dissertations are not authorized. Certain self-funded degree programs are eligible subject to the availability of funds. Refer to Human Resources for more information.
Provided documentation is received by the institution to indicate extenuating circumstances justifying a waiver, the University Controller may waive the late payment fee and the University Registrar may waive the late registration fee when it is determined that the University is primarily responsible for delinquency of a student’s account or that extenuating circumstances exist beyond the control of the student.
Deferred payment status for tuition and registration fees may be granted upon application by the student on the following grounds:
A veteran may request a deferment (promissory note) via their VA Enrollment Certification in MyUWF or at the Military Veterans Resource Center (MVRC) for the amount of tuition and fees. The MVRC will submit the approved promissory note to the University Cashiers Office prior to the fee payment due date. Failure to make payment by the deferment due date will result in the assessment of a $100 late payment fee. Students who do not make payment or request a deferment may have their registration canceled. Students whose registration is canceled due to non-payment may appeal for reinstatement and will be assessed a $200 reinstatement fee. If a student has available financial aid, it will be used prior to the posting of the deferment to pay tuition, fees and other charges.
The University reserves the right to deny deferral status to students who have established an unfavorable credit rating with the University.
Deferment is permitted provided formal contractual arrangements have been made with the University for payments by an approved third party. The University Controller is charged with the responsibility for negotiating third party contracts.
Students are ultimately responsible for all tuition and fees. If the agency (including the Veterans' Administration) has not paid tuition and fees by the end of the semester, the student is required to pay tuition and fees in full. Failure to do so will result in an administrative hold being placed on the student's record and the assessment of a $100 late payment fee.
The late payment fee and late registration fee are nonrefundable unless waived by the University Fee Appeals Committee.
Full refunds will be made to the student when a course is canceled by the University or when a student is denied access to a University course. During the drop/add period the per credit hour fee will be fully refunded for each semester hour or course(s) dropped during the drop/add period.
A student who officially withdraws from all classes at the university within the first four weeks of the semester will be entitled to a refund of 25% of the per credit hour fee for classes for which the drop/add period has passed. Withdrawal from classes for which the drop/add period has not passed will be treated as a drop and the per credit hour fee will be fully refunded.
The University of West Florida is required by Federal regulation to monitor financial aid students who receive Title IV Funds (Pell, SEOG, Direct Loans, Perkins and Plus Loans). Students who have officially or unofficially withdrawn (stopped attending classes without notification) from all courses before completing more than 60 percent of the term are not eligible for 100 percent of their financial aid.
The University is required to return the unearned portion of the Title IV Funds to the Federal Department of Education. Returned unearned aid that is related to federal loans will be applied to the outstanding balance of the loans.
Financial aid that is returned to the Federal Department of Education will become a debt that the student owes the University. This amount will be placed on the student's account and a hold will be placed on the student account preventing registration, grades and transcripts. Contact the Student Accounts Office for exact dates and repayment requirements at 850-474-3038 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Student appeals for late registration, late payment of tuition and fees, and refunds of tuition upon withdrawal after the refund deadline are referred to the University Fee Appeals Committee. In order to be considered, requests for refunds and other appeal actions must be submitted within six months after the end of the semester to which the refund or appeal action is applicable. Requests submitted after the deadline will not be considered.
All appeals must be submitted in writing or by email utilizing the Fee Appeal Form (pdf). The appeal form with supporting documentation should be submitted to Student Accounts, Bldg 20E, or emailed to email@example.com. Failure to provide adequate supporting documentation will result in a delay of the appeal. An appeal for refund of tuition and fees requires that the student be officially withdrawn from the course (or courses) prior to being reviewed by the Fee Appeals Committee.
Appeals are reviewed for the existence of extenuating circumstances that may have prevented the student from meeting his/her obligations in a timely fashion. The following circumstances may warrant approval of the appeal; however success of the appeal rests on the facts in each individual case:
1. Call to or enlisted in active duty military service within the semester.
2. Death of the student or death in the immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling).
3. Complete withdrawal of the student from all courses due to illness of the student that is confirmed in writing by a physician, stating that completion of the term is precluded.
4. Administrative/University error.
Circumstances generally not sufficient to support an appeal include, but are not limited to:
1. Not being aware of registration and/or tuition due dates.
2. Insufficient financial aid or financial hardship.
3. Lack of familiarity with UWF system or procedures.
4. Withdrawal from a class (or classes) to avoid failure or low grades.
5. Withdrawal from a class (or classes) because of dissatisfaction with an instructor.
6. Withdrawal due to conflicts with school/work/life balance.
Note: Withdrawal appeals (academic or medical) that are submitted to the Registrar’s or Dean of Students Offices at the end of the semester, or withdrawals approved retroactively for a previous semester, will generally not be considered for a refund of tuition.
The submission of a fee appeal does not guarantee approval. In addition, the submission of an appeal does not extend the due date for outstanding tuition and fees or other charges while awaiting a decision by the Fee Appeals Committee. Charges not paid by the due date will be assessed the late payment fee.
If the appeal is denied, the decision of the Fee Appeals Committee may be appealed first to the University Controller, then to the Vice President for Finance and Administration, as designee of the President, who has final authority within the University.